Reflecting on 2013, Looking Forward to 2014

January
In January, I rang in the new year with the man I’m lucky enough to call my boyfriend and prepared (by shopping, of course) to visit him in his Florida hometown for the first time.

ImageImage

February
In February, I got snowed in at the hotel I worked at and got to spend the night in a whirlpool suite, finalized an offer to be an intern with Bemis Company, Inc., where I’m lucky enough to still be today, spent Valentine’s Day weekend with the one I love, celebrating both Valentine’s Day and our first anniversary on the 21st, and saw an alligator for the first time, as well as several wild horses!

ImageImage

ImageImage

March
In March, I learned how to do and embraced the sock bun, celebrated my 21st birthday, and attended my sister’s choir concert (my pictures from the concert were blurry, so the bathroom selfie I took that day will have to do).

ImageImageImage

April
In April, I started buying insta-inspired purchases (Kenneth Cole flats, hair bow), scored my favorite Max Studio dress for $15, watched my handsome man get all dressed up in a tux for prom, and bought this inspiring mug that now sits on my desk, reminding me to do what makes me happy.

ImageImageImageImage

May
We saw snow into May, I drank a lot of coffee courtesy of my Keurig to get through finals week, I went out for drinks with my coworkers, we surprised my mom with a visit in Eau Claire for Mother’s Day with all of her kids and grandson, I spent a week in Florida with Sam, where we went to the butterfly garden, I cooked out with my family and enjoyed drinks by the bonfire, I wore a crazy pair of patterned pants to the Memorial Day parade, and I started my internship! May was a busy month.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

June
In June, my statement necklace collection continued to grow (it’s at least twice this size now!), Sam graduated (was he not the cutest baby EVER?!), I spent many lunch breaks outside enjoying the sun, my sister returned from Ireland bearing gifts, I finally (sort of) mastered the art of curling my hair, and I dressed up like a cowgirl and went to Country USA with a friend.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

July
On July 1st, we welcomed my newest nephew, Sorkin Thomas! Sam visited for ten days and we went to the fireworks on the Fourth of July, went camping and hiking, ate strawberry rhubarb sundaes, went to Six Flags, went to a Chicago Fire soccer game (both of our first MLS game), went to a minor league baseball game with my work, and I finally met Sorkin at the end of the month.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

August
In August, Sam and I celebrated a year since we first met in person, several tornadoes rocked my hometown, leaving us powerless for over 24 hours, I toured Lambeau Field with my fellow interns, my family and I left a balloon on the bridge in honor of my second cousin who passed away in April, we attended Sorkin’s baptism, and two friends and I shared an enormous dessert at Buca di Beppo!
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

September
In September, I bought my first car (!!!), found a dupe of the coveted herringbone vest, relied on Starbucks to get me through the start of the semester, went out for wings and beer with my mom, celebrated my dog’s 15th birthday, and met up with some good friends at Oktoberfest in downtown Appleton.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

October
In October, I participated in National Herringbone Vest Day, an insta-declared holiday, despite the heat! I indulged in my addiction to peach rings and Arizona tea before my night classes, we visited Minnesota to go to the pumpkin patch with my nephews, and I wrapped Sam’s birthday gifts, anticipating his November visit.

ImageImageImageImage

November
In November, I discovered my love for opaque colored tights, Sam visited for a too-short weekend where we celebrated his birthday and enjoyed a brisk hike at High Cliff State Park, and we traveled to Minnesota once again for my oldest nephew, Emerson’s second birthday!

ImageImageImageImage

December
In December, I wore lots of red lipstick, flew out of Appleton for the first time, saw a beautiful lights display at the hospital in Gainesville with Sam, went to Yamato, a hibachi-style restaurant, received an amazing insta-secret santa gift, received my first VoxBox from Influenster, rooted for the Bears, and enjoyed the holiday with my family.

2013-12-06 11.55.58
Image2013-12-16 18.03.07ImageImageImageImageImage  2013-12-24 16.47.09

Here’s to 2014!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2013, Looking Forward to 2014

Leave a Reply

