A New Blogger’s Introduction

I set a New Year’s Resolution for myself to start a blog, and after my insta-friend @ruffletuesday helped me settle on a name, I’m ready to go! Let me start off by sharing what got me interested in becoming a lifestyle/fashion blogger in the first place.

Just under a year ago, I was going through a hard time in my life. I could tell the city I lived in and the school I attended were no longer a good fit for me, as I began to grow apart from the friends I had made and kept since my freshman year of college. I felt I had nowhere to turn, as my hometown was across the state and my boyfriend was across the country.

I decided I needed a hobby to keep myself sane as I prepared to spend the next few months alone. I searched my interests and talents for something that could bring me a sense of community. For the most part, I’ve always been mediocre at what I do. I’ve tried knitting, and while I’ve made a few pieces, I don’t always have the patience to stick to a project. I love to read, but being a college student has seriously restricted the time I have to read for pleasure. I do what I can to exercise with yoga DVDs and at-home workouts, but getting to the gym is a commitment I’m unable to make with my schedule. I needed a hobby that wouldn’t require a large time commitment.

I honed in on my one true love, the thing that sets me apart from my family and sometimes makes me wonder if I was adopted – shopping. I decided to focus on fashion as a hobby after I found the fashionable community on Instagram. I drooled over the outfits I saw them post, and slowly began collecting pieces similar to what I had seen. I began experimenting with pattern mixing, new color palettes, and statement jewelry and posted my attempts on my Instagram page. Before I knew it, I was collecting quite a few new followers who would give me feedback on my outfits and like my pictures.

I started to feel as if I were a part of something, and at that point in my life, it was exactly what I needed. I’m so grateful for the friends I’ve made through Instagram, and I’m excited to begin this blog to expand my interests and challenge myself to reflect on my lifestyle.

On that note, I’ll quit my blabbering – for now. Thanks for reading! I look forward to the year of blogging ahead of me.

Untitled

3 thoughts on “A New Blogger’s Introduction

Leave a Reply

