New Year, New Fashion Perspective

The new year has allowed me to reflect on my personal style in 2013, while challenging myself to step outside my comfort zone for 2014. For years, I’ve clung to a dark color palette – black, grey, navy, etc. This past year, especially in the summer months, I’ve attempted to embrace bold colors, like cobalt and different shades of pink. This winter, I’ve mixed red into my wardrobe, a color I’ve always steered away from because I never thought it complimented my skin tone. Since the beginning of the year, I’ve styled two pieces that not only incorporate red, but have forced me to rock patterns I wouldn’t have looked at twice last year!

Image

This blazer was one of those pieces. Please excuse the unamused look on my face in this photo – it was taken (a) out in the cold and (b) before my morning coffee! I picked up this blazer for 70% off at Target this past weekend. I’d seen it on the racks at full price, at 30% off, and at 50% off before I finally decided to give it a try. Side note: if you’re thinking about purchasing this jacket, the sleeves are abnormally tight; I had to size up to even be able to get my arms in it. They’re still tight to my arm, but not uncomfortably so.

Image

I fell in love once I tried it on. It looked completely different on my body than it did on the rack, and I appreciated the unique yet classy look it conveys. The only problem was that I couldn’t decide how I’d style it! So what did I do? I consulted my instafriends, something I do often when I’m shopping and can’t decide on an item. Many of the respondents shared my concerns – “I couldn’t figure out what to wear it with”; “I wasn’t sure about it”.

Image

But one comment in particular sealed the deal for me. My sweet instafriend @aem8168 said, “if anyone can style and rock something iffy… it’s you, Mali!” I was so delighted to hear that and decided to accept the challenge. A couple other comments referred me to posts where they had styled this same blazer, and the inspiration encouraged my decision to scoop it up!

Image

I ordered this Talbot’s sweater via thredUP (get $10 off your purchase by following my link!), an online consignment shop that sells designer brands in new or gently used condition. The colors perfectly compliment the jacket and I love the combo paired with jeans. Dressing down a blazer is quickly becoming one of my favorite looks, especially as we move from winter into spring.

I struggle to pair this jacket with anything white, as the color in the jacket is more of an ivory color. However, the black leather detail on the jacket gives me the freedom to mix black and blue, a combination that used to be taboo to me! Here are a few styles I’m looking to pair with the jacket:

What to Wear With the Jacket?
Much like the way I styled it today, I like the idea of unexpected pairings, like stripes or an embellished tee under this blazer with jeans.  This adorable J.Crew Factory peplum top would look great with plaid, as would one of the many embellished tees currently on the Old Navy site. The Factory stripe-square tee, styled with black jeans and some great heels, would make a great outfit for a night out! The color of the tee would make the red on the jacket really pop, which is how I hope to style the jacket the next time I wear it. For a softer, office-appropriate look, I imagine the light blue top with the jeweled collar or grey top with the Peter Pan collar and dark trousers, topped off with some fabulous jewels. Be sure to check out the great sales going on at both Old Navy and J.Crew Factory!
What would you pair with this plaid jacket?
xoxo
2 thoughts on “New Year, New Fashion Perspective

  1. Chandra D says:

    I’m glad you bought that blazer, Mali! When I saw you post it on Instagram, I was hoping you’d make the plunge. I also bought it over the weekend, and I was planning on wearing it today! I just couldn’t figure HOW I wanted to wear it. In my mind I wanted to wear either black or navy. I also played with an ivory top with teeny tiny polka dots.

    I’m glad you’re stepping outside of your comfort zone!!

    Chandra
    http://www.momomod.com

  2. stitchessapphiresandsweets says:

    I found you Mali! I really like the pairing you did here! I was plain boring and on my instagram I just paired with a plain white tee! Your pairing looks awesome! Makes me want to get a shirt similiar to your and discover soemthing in my closet that is patterned that might play well! Thanks for the awesome inspiration! 🙂 Isa

Leave a Reply

