The Challenge of Styling a Sale Item

As I’ve noted before, there’s nothing I love more than a good sale. That being said, I’m well aware that sometimes a sale means just this – nobody else wanted it, and we have to get rid of it. When I find pieces on sale at rock-bottom prices, I don’t turn my nose up. I see it as a challenge to accept, and these cords were just that.

Image

It’s been years since I’ve embraced colored pants and even longer since corduroy was a part of my life, but this season Old Navy featured a whole slew of colors. I decided to give this emerald pair a try when I found them for under $10 in stores. When I first tried them on, the fit rung true to the online reviews – too tight! Despite my original impression, I decided to buy them in the size I normally wear, which turned out to be the best choice. I found them to have a great stretch.

Image

To complete my look, I buttoned up my favorite chambray and threw on a timeless cable knit sweater, both also from Old Navy. The fan fringe necklace is from Our World Boutique (no longer available, see this option I’m currently coveting ordering.)

Image

One of my favorite things about Old Navy’s Rockstar skinnies is that they are made to fit any and all body types. These cords flatter my body by hugging my curves perfectly, and can be dressed up or down. As a college student with a professional internship, I sometimes find it hard to go from classes to my internship and still feel comfortably dressed in both settings. This look gave me the business casual feel I need in the office, but the comfort I need to sit through class.

Image

I tucked my cords inside my Zadie riding boots from JustFab. When I bought the cords, I didn’t even imagine how great they’d look with a pair of brown boots! Check my Instagram to see more ways I’ve styled these pants.

What’s your favorite sale item you’ve embraced? I’d love to hear!

Image

One thought on “The Challenge of Styling a Sale Item

Leave a Reply

