Playing Dress-Up

As the lovely Ms. Kate Spade so eloquently put it, “playing dress-up begins at age 5 and never truly ends.” And how true! Because here I am, 21 years old, and I found myself playing dress-up at Kohl’s on Saturday.
Image
This LC Lauren Conrad bow top (sold out online) is quickly becoming an Instagram sensation, and can you blame us?! It’s adorable, comfortable, and versatile. I plan to wear it for the rest of the winter and well into the spring! I can already picture pairing it with pastel skinny jeans and sandals or cropped boyfriend jeans and booties, once the weather finaaaally warms up. Because of the Peter Pan-style collar, I’ve chosen not to pair it with a necklace here. If I were to pair it with a necklace, however, I would’ve picked a delicate gold necklace, rather than a statement piece.ImageI love this ballerina-inspired look! This gorgeous tulle maxi skirt is a Lauren Conrad piece as well. I tried it on Saturday, went home without it, and thought about it all night long. I love it so much! Why didn’t I buy it? I asked myself. Where will you wear it? It’s not practical; save the money, answered my conscience. After mulling it over, I went back for it yesterday. Oops! I’m sure I’ll find an occasion for it, right? As for the shoes, they’re Old Navy (how J.Crew, right?). I’m also loving them in black.

ImageI picked up this darling set of delicate Lauren Conrad rings when I went back for the skirt. They were on clearance for less than $5, and I had a 30% off coupon. I couldn’t say no! Most of my rings are silver, so I’m excited to add this cute little stack of gold to my jewelry box.
ImageOutfit change! I wanted to try a couple different looks with my tulle maxi skirt, so I went for the extremes. I started with a soft look and then changed into a plaid top and western-style boots. Again, I left off a necklace because of the sequin detail on my collar, but I’ve paired this shirt with a couple different necklaces (see my Instagram account for ideas).
ImageI chose my sequin-collared red plaid button-up from Target and my Rocket Dog Sheriff boots (similar here). I love the idea of taking something as feminine as a tulle skirt and matching it with something rugged, like my cowgirl boots.ImageHow would you wear a tulle skirt?

Image

3 thoughts on “Playing Dress-Up

  1. Must. Go. Get. Blouse. NOW!
    P.S.- it’s affableolive from Instagram. So glad to have found your blog and see your face now! The outfit is just lovely!

Leave a Reply

