Blogger Book Club and Where the Heck Have I Been?!

I really have no excuse for my absence except what always happens – Life! I found myself struggling to keep up with blogging – finding inspiration for posts and time to write them became a chore rather than an outlet. I’ve decided I’m going to let blogging be a natural process for me – if I have something to blog about, I will. If I don’t, I don’t! And that’s okay. I keep reminding myself that it is a creative outlet, not my career.

So – I’m here to tell you about this wonderful little thing I stumbled upon thanks to an instafriend – the Blogger Book Club! Let me preface this by saying that if you are interested in joining, you absolutely do not have to be a blogger (even though I have a blog, I would- by no means- consider myself a blogger, and they let me in!). I’ve always wanted to be in a book club. I love reading, but since going to college I let my love for reading fall by the wayside as I got swept away by all things college – partying, studying, working, etc. Now that I’ve transferred schools, moved home, tabled my party life, and bought an iPad Mini (a serious impulse buy that I do not regret) my love for reading is renewed.

Our first book, as voted on by our members, is Emily Giffin’s The One and Only. I’ve never read any of Giffin’s books before, but I may have to now. As a true book club newbie, I flew through the book and find myself struggling to contribute to discussion without spoiling the ending! I (probably) won’t be making that mistake again. Like so many books before, I found myself rooting for a specific ending to the book – an ending I did not get. I still liked the book, but I definitely see what people dislike about it. Not going any further into that – I don’t want to spoil it! 😉

Here’s what I’ve learned so far about being in a book club:
1. As I said before – I plan to keep pace next time! Contributing to discussion questions will be much easier without the foresight of what happens throughout the rest of the book.
2. Take notes! It may seem tedious, but I can’t be the only one who gets lost in thought as I read, get to the end of a page and think to myself, wait, what did I just read? and have to start again. I think finding notable quotes and jotting down questions as I go will allow me to be a more active reader.

the one and only

Image via

Head over to bookclub.justpeachyblog.org, or click the button on my sidebar, if you’d like to join! We’re only a third of the way through our first book, so there’s plenty of time to catch up.

 xoxo

One thought on “Blogger Book Club and Where the Heck Have I Been?!

Leave a Reply

