Summer in Linen

In my mind, there’s no material better than linen to wear during the hot summer months. It’s light and breathable, and Old Navy absolutely nailed it with this dress.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

When I first saw a few bloggers and Instagrammers buying and styling this dress, I was smitten. It was everything I love in a summer dress: classic, breezy, short-sleeved, & long enough for office wear. I decided not to purchase it immediately and wait for a sale, especially because it was not available in my local store to try on. And let me say – that was a mistake. If you can get your hands on this dress, I strongly recommend it, because it seems to be sold out everywhere.

photo3

My apologies for the wrinkles – I took these at lunch, after sitting at my desk all morning. That’s my one complaint about linen, but it’s forgivable. The embroidery on this dress is just gorgeous, and makes it look much more expensive than it is, even at full price ($44.99).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Luckily, I stumbled across this piece in the damaged/defective section of my town’s Old Navy, and scored it for 50% off the markdown price ($28.99), bringing it home for fifteen bucks and change. The damage? The small loop for the button was detached (see above), but still with the dress. The cashier (who informed me he works at a costume shop in addition to Old Navy) confirmed my assumption that reattaching the loop would be an easy fix. To be honest, had it not worked, I would’ve thrown on a safety pin and called it a day. I’m not picky – I just love this dress. All the repair job took was a needle and a little thread, and my dress was good as new in less than 5 minutes!

photo1

Sam played photographer for me today and captured this sassy look I shot him. Some days I really believe he deserves a medal for putting up with me and my shenanigans.

photo2

Side note: I’ve had luck in the damaged/defective section in the past as well – if you follow me on Instagram, you’re probably familiar with my tassel tote (also seen here & here). My tassel tote was also 50% off for having a broken zipper, which I easily fixed before I ever left the store. It’s still available online, and I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a great tote.

Have you ever bought a damaged or defective item for a great price that was easily repairable? If so, comment below! If not – keep your eyes peeled! So many damages or defects are miniscule and fixable.

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

