Back to the Ol’ Stomping Grounds

Soooo, you know how I was doing really well keeping up with my blog? Yeah, I kind of blew that last week. But wait! I have an explanation! The summer camp I worked at in 2009-2010 was in desperate need of some help last week, and I was fortunate enough to be able to get off work and head up north to help out. I spent the first 2 and 1/2 days with 8 six- and seven-year-old gals as their primary counselor, and it couldn’t have gone more smoothly. Not only were they adorable, but they were excellent listeners, which made for a great few days for all of us. I decided as I was taking them around camp on the first day that being a returning counselor is somewhat like riding a unicycle. It didn’t come back to me as quickly as riding a bike would (especially after so many years), but it all slowly fell into place. After the little ones left, I was a tertiary counselor (meaning there were two other counselors, and I was third in line) for 10 ten- and eleven-year-olds. This combination made for an incredibly relaxing week which felt more like a vacation than it did work (which, by the way, I am totally okay with).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Since the second half of the week did not require me to sleep in a cabin with campers, I was able to enjoy my early mornings with a cup of coffee. Happy camper indeed.Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Throughout the week, I spent the majority of my daytime by the waterfront, teaching sailing instructionals to various groups of kids (okay, it wasn’t windy enough to sail, so we mostly made sandcastles and went paddleboating). During free time, however, I manned the crosswalk for a couple of days, which allowed me to relax and get some reading done for the Blogger Book Club.

I promise more fashion/lifestyle-related posts will be available later this week! Happy Monday, my lovely readers!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

