Getting Started with Influenster

One thing I personally need to get better is responding to emails and phone calls by budgeting my time more efficiently. Recently I received an email from Influenster, informing me that I had won a $50 gift card to Victoria’s Secret for participating in the Victoria’s Secret Sport VoxBox. In my excitement, I shared a screenshot of the email on Instagram, offering that if my followers left their email address, I’d send an invite to join Influenster. I sent out all of the requested invites, but I had a friend contact me about what she needed to do to receive a VoxBox. I told her of course I’d be happy to help and that I’d get back to her after I reminded myself of how to get started. But, as usual, life happens and I got swept away with schoolwork and my internship and trying to find time to sleep, and two weeks later I still haven’t chatted with her. Oops (sorry Ali! This post is for you!).

tumblr_static_influenster_logo

So, to help Ali and any others interested in getting free stuff (which I assume would be everyone…), I’m sharing my top five tips to increasing your Influenster impact score.

1. Connect any and all social media accounts you have
Influenster gives you the opportunity to link your Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Tumblr, Foursquare, LinkedIn, Google+, and blog accounts. Each account you link gives you the opportunity to up your score. The amount of impact points you receive per account does depend on the number of followers/friends/contacts you have, but don’t worry if you don’t have a ton – nothing will negatively impact your score. I don’t personally have a Foursquare account, so I do not have it linked.

2. Complete your “snaps”
On your Influenster dashboard, you’ll will automatically see your impact score and reach diagram (above). On the left-hand side of the window, there is a sidebar where you’ll see Snaps as the next viewing option (below). Snaps are survey questions that help you earn expert and lifestyle badges. These badges help Influenster determine what VoxBoxes will best fit your interests, so be sure to answer these questions when they are available.

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 10.27.56 AM3. Write reviews
As you start to unlock expert and lifestyle badges (below – campaign badges are earned as you receive Boxes and participate in campaigns), you’ll need to write reviews and answer questions about products related to the badge to keep your badges active. Remember, Influenster exists entirely to gain the honest opinions of consumers, so the more you’re offering your opinion, the more likely they are to send you a VoxBox full of goodies to review.

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 10.28.15 AM

4. Follow and interact with Influenster on Twitter
Influenster is active on Facebook and Instagram as well, but I find it easiest to interact with them on Twitter. You can follow @Influenster and @InfluensterVox, where you’ll eventually have the opportunity to participate in Twitter parties once you’ve qualified to participate in a campaign. While Twitter parties don’t necessarily impact your score or likelihood of receiving a Box, there are opportunities to earn bonus Boxes or additional prizes.

5. Download the Influenster app
When I first started, Influenster didn’t have an app, but now I’m able to keep my badges active by writing reviews right at my fingertips whenever I have a spare moment. The app seems to have all of the features the website has, and while I haven’t yet used it to complete any campaigns, I imagine it will make that easier too.

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 10.27.36 AM

Yay! You’ve qualified for your first campaign. Now what?
Influenster will walk you through this via email, but I’ll mention it briefly – before you officially receive your first Box, you’ll receive an email asking you to participate in a survey that may result in you qualifying to receive a box. Try to answer these as honestly as possible – as I mentioned before, they want your real opinions. I can’t recall a time when I received a survey and didn’t receive a Box, so if you receive the survey you’re more likely than not going to receive another email shortly telling you you’re in. Once you’ve received your VoxBox, promptly check it in and get started on the badge tasks. This is your opportunity to work toward qualifying for badge prizes and increase your likelihood of being selected for a future campaign.

Have questions? Leave them below, and I’ll do my best to answer!

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Getting Started with Influenster

    • I hope it’s helpful! That’s so strange, I think I’ve gotten every box I’ve received a survey for! Hopefully you’ll get your first box soon, it’s too fun!

      • kimberly norman says:

        I’m needing to increase my social impact score for influester. I know we all can use more .on Facebook and youtube it’s kimberly norman
        On twitter still my married name kim valenzuela but all are the same email kimberly4spa@yahoo.com
        So hoping we can all follow each other.
        Does anyone have more tips. Oh I’m also on bzz agent I get a lot of campaign s through there . Usally at least 2 a month. Best I ever got was a huge box of cover girl makeup. At least 1 of everything I’m sure don’t 5hink I ever saw so much make at 1 time in 1 box

  1. Chelsea Whitaker says:

    I just joined and did everything it said, when I click on snaps to do surveys there’s nothing. What do I do?

Leave a Reply

