Grown-Up Hot Chocolate

I’ve been on a total hot chocolate kick lately, especially since I picked up this mug at Target. I’m generally pretty loyal to the ol’ Swiss Miss, but after finishing my last final exam and a final paper earlier today, I was feeling something different this evening. I decided to try my hand at a little homemade hot chocolate – grown-up style.

Kahlua Hot Chocolate
Makes 3 large servings

Ingredients
4 cups of milk
4 tablespoons of sugar
3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
½ teaspoon of cinnamon
A couple pinches of nutmeg (I honestly have no idea what constitutes a “pinch” – I just guess)
3 oz. Kahlua coffee liqueur
Mini marshmallows (I used regular sized marshmallows, because it’s what I had, but they’re hard to drink around)
Chocolate & caramel syrup

Mix the milk, sugar, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg together in a pan over medium heat. Warm until hot chocolate reaches a desired temperature. Pour into your cutest mugs, add a shot of Kahlua, and garnish with mini marshmallows and chocolate & caramel syrup. Serve!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This post was brought to you by my intense desire to fill this mug with hot cocoa and schnapps, but adjusting according to what was available in the fridge. If you try it, let me know what you think!

xoxo

Recipe from damndelicious.net

Leave a Reply

