On My Radar

I know a few (okay, probably more than a few) bloggers frequently do an On My Radar-type post, and I’ve always loved the idea. I’ve done a couple in the past myself, but want to make it a more frequent feature because I’m always coming across things I’m dying to share with others! This week, on my radar:

ONE:: One Officer’s ‘Shake It Off’ DashCam Confessional

This is too funny! A Dover police officer had some fun shaking it off to Taylor Swift’s hit song, and even though it’s been made clear that it was staged, it’s still nice to see the police force having some fun despite the police controversies and accusations making headlines as of late. The best part? Taylor Swift herself took to Twitter with a response to the video.

TWO:: American Sniper

I saw American Sniper on Tuesday with my parents (let’s just take a moment to appreciate $5 Tuesdays at Marcus Theaters), and it was incredible. I’m not sure if it was $5 Tuesday that brought people out, or if everyone was dying to see this wildly popular film, but the theater was packed. The movie ended on the heavy note of Chris Kyle’s murder by a fellow veteran, and the sold-out crowd was entirely silent as we exited, which only heightened my viewing experience. It’s not everyday you get to have an inside look at what the people who fight for our country sacrifice. On a lighter note, before I went to see the movie I had seen this comical news headliner on Facebook and watched the knowing crowd smirk and chuckle during the scene. It’s a must-see!

THREE:: Liane Moriarty

I have to mention my recent/current reads, because three of the last four have been by the same author. Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies, The Husband’s Secret, and What Alice Forgot, has totally hooked me! We read Big Little Lies for the Blogger Book Club, which I elected to listen to on Audible. I loved it. I shortly thereafter put My Husband’s Secret on my Christmas list, and finished it while I was visiting Sam in Florida. Just before my flight back, I purchased What Alice Forgot on my iPad, and am loving it as well! If you’re interested in trying a Liane Moriarty book, but don’t want to commit to the purchase right away, look into trying Audible. Your first audiobook is free! There’s been talk of film interpretations of, like, all of her books (yeah – they’re that good), so make sure you read them first!

article-lilly2-1023

lilly-pulitzer

FOUR:: Lilly Pulitzer Uses Drone Cam to Capture Spring 2015 Collection

Being the technology nerd that I am, I think it’s too cool that one of my favorite designers is upping their game in the tech department. I work at an insurance company that uses a drone to survey large properties, and I got to see it in action this past summer. It’s exciting to hear that drone technology is becoming such a versatile tool. Side note: I’m postively drooling over the Lilly for Target collab. I’m moving in May, so I plan on snagging some home goods to deck out my new place! (Who am I kidding, I want all of the things.)

What’s on your radar this week?

signature

7 thoughts on “On My Radar

    • Aren’t they incredible?! I had no idea they had penetrated the fashion world! Love seeing my two worlds cross. 😉 I’ve also read about Amazon experimenting with same-day delivery by drone. It’s crazy what they can do!

  1. Katherine says:

    I wanted to see American Sniper, but your comment was a major Spoiler! I hate to hear the end of something before I see it. 😦

    • Sorry you feel I spoiled it, but Chris Kyle’s story is a true story, so it’s public knowledge how his story ends (see the link I posted). I still encourage you to see it! Mentioning how the movie ends really doesn’t spoil how any of the movie happens, it really is incredible.

      • Katherine says:

        I know, you are right. I guess I’m a little clueless about the story, so maybe I’m an oddball not knowing that he dies at the end. I will still see it though…

  2. The first time I saw the video of the cop singing Shake it Off I LOL’d so much! I saw American Sniper on Sunday morning (our theater used to have $5 movies before noon but now they went up to $5.50… grr!) and it was PACKED! it was a 10am showing so I wasn’t expecting it to be so full! Anyways, it was a great movie. 🙂

    Jessica
    the.pyreflies.org

    • I know, it’s too funny! I hope they continue with the Dashboard Confessionals series. Wow, I wouldn’t have expected a 10am showing to be packed either! We went at 7:45 on the $5 night, so I was pretty sure it’d be busy. So so so good though!

Leave a Reply

