The Silk Dress for Less

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Piperlime dress (similar here and here) // Xhilaration tights (similar here) // Merona flats (old, but I love these!)

 

 

 

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetA couple of weeks ago, Piperlime had a fantastic 60% off sale that I couldn’t help but take advantage of. (Side note: can we talk about how depressing it is that Piperlime is closing up shop this soon after C.Wonder closed? Ugh.) After filling my cart with item after item, I forced myself to pare down what I had selected to two dresses: a silk drawstring shirt dress and an all-over lace dress. The lace dress proved to be ill-fitting (I should’ve listened to the reviews), but the silk shirt dress was better than I expected. Originally priced at $119, I snagged this beautiful piece for only $9.99. You guys, that’s over 90% off. Sadly, it’s since sold out, but there are a couple of similar dresses I’ve linked that are still available at great prices.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I paired it with a bright red pair of tights from Target (all of my tights are from Target – they’re amazing!).

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I wore this dress to work last week, and wanted to take some pictures for the blog when I got home. I didn’t know we were expecting snow! Honestly, I don’t hate seeing it – The snow we have on the ground (that mostly melted away over the weekend) fell while I was in Florida, so I hadn’t seen snow since well before Christmas! (Shout out to my East Coast friends who are about to be absolutely pounded with snow – stay safe!)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The dress has a drawstring that brings in the waist, but the next time I wear it I might try a belt for more definition at the waist. I chose to forgo jewelry and let the print do the talking.

3 thoughts on “The Silk Dress for Less

  1. The Merona tights are target are the ones I usually reach for first. I’m so depressed about Piperlime. It’s going to be a sad day. Also… NO ONE TOLD ME ABOUT C.WONDER!!! Now I’m sad. I loved their stuff!

    • Me too! They’re surprisingly high-quality for the price. Classic Target. I’m sad too – I suppose they’ll have some fantastic sales though! Yeah, C.Wonder closed up, but if you go to their site it says they are temporarily closed.. So maybe they’ll be back? We can only hope!

Leave a Reply

