Budgeting Bloggers: January 2015

Yep, you read that title right guys – I’m participating in the Budgeting Bloggers link-up, starting right this month. Shocked? Amazed? Me too. We’ll see how it goes. I’m well aware that I am far (so, so far) from perfect when it comes to budgeting, but I’m hoping that participating in this link-up will allow me to rethink every impulse purchase I contemplate making. So, without further adieu.. Let’s see if I can remember all the things I purchased this month. Ha!
budgblog

In order by purchase date:

1. Lilly Pulitzer Ember Shift Dress in Escapades in the Everglades: originally $198, paid $59
2. Merona Embellished Crewneck Pullover Sweater: originally $27.99, on clearance & used gift card
3. Charming Charlie Pop, Fizz, Clink iPhone Case: originally $9, paid $4.99
4. Piperlime Silk Dress: originally $119.99, paid $9.99
5. LOFT Textured Drop Shoulder Sweater: originally $69.50, paid $15.88
6. LOFT Denim Leggings in Smoky Black: originally $74.50, paid $12.88
7. LOFT Blush Pouch: originally $29.50, paid $4.88
8. Agent18 Tortoise iPhone Case: originally $24,99, paid $4

Total spent: $111.62
Total saved off retail price: $413.86(!!!)

Now, explanation time. I purchased the Lilly dress during the After Party Sale in early January. Since I was in Florida at the time (vacation = no income), I promised myself I would only buy if I found the perfect dress for graduation. I picked out the Ember Shift in Escapades in the Everglades because, hello, it was a sign – I am moving to Florida after graduation after all! I purchased the Merona sweater in Florida on impulse (oops) because I needed something warmer than anything I’d packed and would be appropriate for a nice dinner. Plus, I love it, and I had a gift card from Christmas. The Pop, Fizz, Clink phone case was another impulse buy (oops again), but this one I kind of regret. I hope to use it again next year around the holidays to get some more use out of it. I’m in LOVE with the Piperlime dress, as I expressed in my post earlier this week, and see myself getting a lot of wear out of it. I’m also in love with the three LOFT purchases shown above. I’m so happy I got my hands on another pair of LOFT’s denim leggings in a smaller size, and I had been forever hunting for the perfect emerald green sweater. I’m head over heels for the Agent18 phone case (probably why I regret the first phone case) because it’s hard plastic and won’t get dirty like rubber phone cases, and tortoise shell? Sold. I don’t see myself needing a new one anytime soon – and what a deal at $4 (thanks TJ Maxx clearance)!

Looking at this rundown, it looks like I did incredible with my spending habits this month (and I did). In order to be fully transparent, I feel I must tell you about the expenses incurred that I am not including in my monthly budget. Those include, but may not be limited to: food, drinks, & souvenirs purchased at Universal (January); dining out with friends (monthly); blog maintenence costs (monthly); gasoline (bi-weekly); school costs (intermittent); etc. 

10 thoughts on “Budgeting Bloggers: January 2015

    • I know, I couldn’t believe it once I added it all up! You’re much stronger than I – but you’ve earned it! Congrats on the new job and happy shopping!

    • Thanks Courtney! Every year Lilly has two “After Party Sales” that are a huge deal – one at the beginning of the year and one at the end of summer! Keep your eye out for the end of summer sale – it’s not one to miss!

    • I LOVE LOFT’s sales! My only thing is I hate the high shipping price, which usually turns me off from the online sales. I trust you saw the 70% off flash sale currently going on? So many cute things! I’ll take a look at your blog. Thanks for reading!

      • Hahaha oops, sorry! It’s only on for another hour anyway. I saw a bunch of cute things but the shipping cost turned me off again! They’d get me every time if shipping were free.

Leave a Reply

