Pussy Bow Copycat

Disclaimer: despite the multiple cat references in the title, I am in fact a dog person, through and through.

image

LOFT blouse and belt (sold out, very similar blouse & belt) // Old Navy pants (exact) // GoJane bag (sold out, similar) // Target wedge flats (old, similar)

As I mentioned in my post about the blogs you might be missing out on, I am an avid reader of Fran’s blog, Franish. One of my favorite things she does on her blog is review her purchases (her willpower and ability to return what she doesn’t absolutely love is something I admire and seriously need to work on), and I often find myself referring to them when out shopping for myself. While this post was more of an outfit post than a review, I remembered it immediately when I found this pussy bow blouse on final sale at my local LOFT for $12. So what did I do? I bought it, and styled it exactly as Fran did (thanks girl!).

image

I’ve recently been struggling in the accessories department, and that’s mainly because I can’t decide if I still like statement necklaces or not. I’ve picked up a few pieces of simpler jewelry lately, and am enjoying the understated look just as much as I used to enjoy the statement look. However, I find myself feeling like something is missing without a necklace to tie my look together, thus my dilemma. As Fran notes, this blouse needs no accessories, other than a very simple necklace and my favorite pair of earrings, which makes my job easy. My favorite earrings were my first gift from Sam for Christmas in 2012. They’re incredibly special to me for that reason, and after almost losing one on the second day of my current internship (I had a small panic attack, but as usual, mom to the rescue – she found it on the floor after it had flown off while I was changing), they’re even more dear to me. I’ve since replaced the backs with ones that almost don’t come off.

image

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen my post about this new bag. I binge-watched my way through The Mindy Project, and after seeing her impressive collection of quilted Chanel bags, I decided I needed one for myself. I found this great (much more affordable) dupe on gojane.com.

image

I’m in the market for a better-fitting pair of black pants. These Old Navy khakis stretch out almost immediately when I’m wearing them, and I need some that hold their shape better and flatter my hip region a little better. I’d love to hear about your favorite pants!

4 thoughts on “Pussy Bow Copycat

  1. I’m sure you know this but Fran raves about the Limited pants. I personally really like the (now discontinued) J.Crew Cafe Capri. I have yet to find a good replacement for them. Fran is worth copying up and down. Her outfits are simple. I wouldn’t call her minimalist, but I love that what she doesn’t isn’t fussy and overdone. I think a simple, light necklace would’ve been fine, just if you felt like you needed something.

    • I’m going to have to get to the Limited to try them on sometime! I definitely admire Fran’s simplicity, it’s fashionable without being overbearing, which is the way I find my taste leaning these days. Thanks for stopping by!

      xo, Mali

Leave a Reply

