Budgeting Bloggers: February 2015

This is my second month participating in Fran’s Budgeting Bloggers link-up. Let’s take a look at how I did:

unnamed
In order by purchase date:

1. Forever 21 Pearl Necklace: paid $9.80 with gift card
2. Eddie Bauer Snowdrop Quarter-Zip Sweater: originally $69.99, paid $14.69
3. Eddie Bauer Flannel: originally $49.99, paid $10.50
4. Gap Legging Capris (2 pair): originally $39.99 each, paid $11.90 each
5. Gap Blouse: originally $44.99, paid $9.33
6. Jansport UW Oshkosh Quarter-Zip Sweatshirt: originally $50, paid $20
7. Old Navy Jersey Turtlenecks (2, in black stripe and navy stripe): originally $16.50 each, paid $6.97 each
8. Old Navy Cable Knit Sweater: originally $34.94, paid $19.97 (I blame Kelly for this one)
9. Mossimo Espadrilles: originally $24.99, paid $19.97
10. GoJane Faux Leather Bag: paid $26.82
11. LOFT Leopard Jacquard Flare Dress: originally $98, paid $10.95
12. LOFT Mosaic Bow Neck Blouse: originally $59.50, paid $12.65
13. J. Crew Factory Shirttail Mini Skirt: originally $74.50, paid $1.31 after gift card

Total spent: $183.93
Total saved: $465.39

I spent a little bit more this month and didn’t save quite as much, but overall I’m happy with my purchases. I’ve been wanting a pearl necklace like this one from J.Crew forever, but I couldn’t justify the price, so I was happy to find a similar one for 90% less. My parents and I went to the outlet mall in Oshkosh earlier this month when we were there so I could pick up a couple of things from the bookstore for school. The end-of-season sales were unreal, and I’m so happy about my Eddie Bauer and Gap purchases. My parents have bought from Eddie Bauer for years and always rave about the quality, so I was thrilled to find a beautiful sweater and flannel that will last, which I styled earlier this month. Gap had their legging capris on major sale, so I picked up two pairs and my mom grabbed a pair for my sister! They’re incredibly comfortable for working out and not see-through (hallelujah!). I also found the beautiful pink wrap blouse that I styled for Valentine’s Day, which will be so pretty going into Spring. On our way home from the outlets, we stopped at the Jansport Factory Store (which I’ve mentioned briefly before) where I picked up a UWO quarter-zip sweatshirt. I figured since I’m graduating in May it’s about time I got an apparel item representing my soon-to-be alma mater. Then, since everygal and her sister snagged the turtlenecks from Old Navy, I had to have a couple too. All of my classes are in the same classroom this semester, and it’s COLD in there. I’ve been dreaming of having these turtlenecks to wear underneath cozy sweaters for extra warmth, and was thrilled to find a couple online. And as I mentioned above, Kelly from Kelly in the City totally talked (blogged?) me into getting this sweater when she referred to it as the Sweater of the Year. It’s so SOFT. And of course, I got sucked in to yet another Instagram frenzy, in which everyone is lusting over these espadrilles from Target. I’m dying for spring to come faster so I can wear them, but until then, I’ll admire those able to wear them from afar. As I mentioned on Instagram, this purse is totally Mindy Lahiri’s fault. She has a drool-worthy collection of quilted Chanel bags, and while those aren’t in my budget, this GoJane option was, and I love it. Lastly, I’ve been looking for a skirt that I can style with my Bean Boots, and even though it hasn’t arrived yet, I’m hoping this shirttail mini from J. Crew Factory is the one.

February was another good month for shopping! Here’s to March not breaking the bank (I’m not making any promises, it is my birthday month after all).

14 thoughts on “Budgeting Bloggers: February 2015

    • Haha thanks Jessica! I’m saving up for a big move in May, so after I buy myself a couple of birthday presents I’ll have to cut back. 😉

      xo, Mali

    • I do my best to only buy things I find on sale, but I still buy way too much! Haha I hope you join us next month! It’s fun to see what you’ve spent and saved each month.

      xo, Mali

    • Thanks Cassie! Oh, it’s such an amazing sweater. It’s on great sale now too! I’ll be featuring it in a post tomorrow, so be sure to check back!

      xo, Mali

Leave a Reply

