Reflecting on Lilly for Target

Sometimes it’s just downright FUN to get involved in the hype of something like #LillyforTarget (are we totally sick of that hashtag yet?). We all heard the snobby opinions before the launch about the collaboration robbing the iconic brand of its exclusivity and authenticity, blah blah blah. I love Lilly as much as the next girl, but I just may love a great deal even more. When I first heard about Lilly for Target, I was watching Fury in theaters with Sam. My cousin tagged me in a photo on Instagram that announced the line, and it took pretty much everything I had in me not to let out a giant squeal or have a panic attack right there in the theater. In my experience, dating back to the Nieman Marcus collab (that was actually deemed an epic fail), Target collaborations have just been fun. I’ve never felt overly excited about any of them, and generally stroll through the store looking for returns and markdowns (hi Tory Burch lunchbox, hi 2 Phillip Lim bags…).

But not this time. This time, I had a plan of action and I’ve been all but counting down since it was announced. I was one of the lucky ones who was able to snag the online only items I wanted from mobile links just after midnight (I know, please don’t hate me), and got the push up halter bikini top and high waisted bikini bottoms in My Fans. After I got those, I was satisfied with getting whatever I could get in-store the next day.imageSo yesterday morning, I woke up around 6 am and left the house by 6:50 with my mom to grab Starbucks before we got in line, if need be. As it turned out, there were only 2 people in line when we arrived, so we were able to wait in our car until about 15 minutes before the doors opened, when more cars started arriving. I was fourth in line, but as the doors opened, some sneaky moms sidled right up to the front of the line. I tell ya, when girls send their moms on a mission, they deliver – including mine! I bee-lined it to the clothes while my mom hit up home goods. We came out incredibly victorious (AKA I got everything on my list).

Other than the suit, I managed to score a beach towel in Giraffing Me Crazy, the gold plated giraffe flask, the canvas shopping tote in Nosie Posie and Belladonna, two shift dresses in See Ya Later and Upstream, the challis pompom shorts in Upstream, and a soft turban head wrap in My Fans.

image image image image image imageAs you can see, I had fun snapchatting my finds to my friends! You’re welcome to follow along @ malitroobs.

Were you able to come away from the madness with anything from this line? The more I hear about girls who had bad luck, the more fortunate I feel to have had such great luck. Next Wednesday, I’ll be participating in the Lilly for Target Linkup, hosted by Michaela of The Monogrammed Midwesterner and Annaliese of Southern Belle in Training. Be sure to watch out for that to see how I’ve styled my Lilly for Target items!

 

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on Lilly for Target

    • So happy you got the dress! I almost got the teacups you have on your blog, but in the end decided I didn’t need them. I wanted that gold clutch, but I don’t think my store had it! I hope you enjoy all of your goodies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

